Memorable centenary row at Henley Regatta in ‘Gloriana’

Centenary - Gloriana#3




Merrick Rayner (68-73), chairman of the OP Society, writes:


“Sunday July 2nd was a brilliant day with even the weather doing its bit – a classic Henley day. It was good to see the brainchild of Anna Sterling (00-01) come to fruition with her father, Lord Sterling, so kindly agreeing to let the Pangbourne rowing fraternity row the royal barge  Gloriana down the Henley course in celebration of our centenary. We are also indebted to the Chairman of Henley Royal Regatta, Sir Steve Redgrave, for giving permission for this to take place after the final race of the regatta.
A great cross section from the Pangbourne rowing community had been assembled by the College. The crew looked very smart in their singlets and there were also positive comments about the rowing standard as they came down the course! I was very pleased to see Graham Innes and his brother Duncan Innes – both members of the winning 1971 PE crew – taking part. Also Malcolm Walker and Clare Whitehead.
Gloriana was followed down the course by the beautifully restored Dunkirk little ship MB278 as an escort which is owned by Pangbourne and was proudly flying the Devitt and Moore flag, Dunkirk little ships burgee and Pangbourne College Blue ensign.”



Centenary - Gloriana#2


The crew of ‘Gloriana’ on the day was:


Strachan McDonald  – 1961 1st VIII

Rob Hamilton – 1963 PE Cup winner

Garth McDonald – 1963 PE Cup winner

Graham Innes – 1971 PE Cup winner; Pangbourne’s first rowing blue 1974-76 for Oxford University; international sculler

Duncan Innes – 1971 PE Cup winner; world championships gold medal winner

Graham Jex – 1971 PE Cup winner; from New Zealand

Steve Cross – 1992 PE Cup winner

Mike Everett – 1992 PE Cup winner

Mark Hamilton – 1992 PE Cup winner

Charles Duffield – 2003 PE Cup winner

Charlie Shillito – 2003 PE Cup winner

Ruben Reggiani – 2003 PE Cup winner; Italian youth international

Ani Cook – 2017 leaver and Captain of Boats

Archie Anslow-Wilson – 2017 leaver and Captain of Boats

Toby Garbett – Olympian and Double World Champion; 2004 Olympic pairs at Athens

Georgia Francis – current senior international

Isabel Metcalfe – formerGirls first IV; Henley Womens’ Regatta semifinalist

Philip Garnier – newly promoted CCCC for 2017-18 and 1st VIII rower. He stood in for Charles Waite-Roberts who was rowing in a Final at Henley that day.

Shaun Maynard (1963 PE Cup winner) was in the original crew. Due to injury, he did not travel from South Africa.



Photos below by Gareth Jones/Sports-alive photography (c)

Centenary -Gloriana#4


Centenary - Gloriana#5Centenary - Gloriana#6Centenary - Gloriana#7Centenary - Gloriana#8Centenary - Gloriana#9